Academic Writer

Academic Writer

Maslow’s Hierarchy Theory – A Comprehensive Guide

Psychology is an exceptional field of education where the emphasis is on human beings and their needs. One of the most prolific school of thought advocated by psychology is that of humanistic psychology.

In essence, this domain realises and promotes that every human being is born with multitudes of strengths and weaknesses. However, the idea is to reach their optimal potential to reach the state of fulfilment within self. The road to this state is turbulent and often unsuccessful. However, it often comes and goes in waves.

When it comes to an understanding of humanistic psychology, the work produced by Abraham Maslow cannot be undermined. He was one of the first individuals who openly spoke about human needs and their eventual motivations to meet those needs. Thus, he concluded a phenomenal theory called Maslow’s Hierarchy which is now used as the base of every theory. Thus, below are the fundamental concepts of this particular theory.

To begin with, Maslow’s Hierarchy has distinguished itself into five stages, from top to bottom. At the bottom, the most crucial needs are mentioned, and the needs mentioned in the top section are those, which can only be attained after meeting all the subordinated needs.

To be precise, once a level is satisfied, that particular need is no more needed to motivate the being as he or she gets over it. For your better understanding, let's discuss these needs in detail.

·         Physiological Needs:

These are the most fundamental needs of everyone’s life. These include food, shelter, water, air, and other necessities of life. These are the requirements that must be met to survive. Therefore, once the need is fulfilled, survival becomes easier, and the human being is then transferred to the next stage of life.

·         Safety Needs:

Safety in this hierarchy doesn’t just mean physical safety. It covers all grounds like financial security, social security, and other types of securities. Therefore, when the person feels secure from any potential danger and doesn’t have to struggle or put in efforts to stay alive constantly, their particular need is met. This means that they no longer feel motivated by this.

·         Social Needs:

Man constantly strives for love, belongingness, and care. Thus, once their physiological needs, as well as safety needs, are met, they turn to find love and social acceptance from others. This serves as their new motivation, and it makes them feel accepted and cherished. One example is to ask someone whom you trust to do my essay. This help from others will make you feel socially connected and will motivate you to move on to the next step.

·         Esteem Needs:

Knowledge, competence, and independence are some of the essential features which are required to meet the need for esteem. When the individual feels confident in his or her skills, there won’t be any urge to feel insecure at all.

·         Self-Actualisation Needs:

This is the final stage of fulfilment. When all the prior needs are met, people may feel a sense of calm, close to spirituality. This need can be manifested into anything that a person wants and drives true happiness and satisfaction.


You can change this Page Layout in the toolbar above if you want to have a different content layout on this page.

You can add more content to this page by clicking the 'Add Content to Page' button.